
Declaring a Hand (Part 3) 

 

In Part 2, we talked about making a plan when you’re declaring a hand. In this part, we’ll focus on 

that moment of dread—when you realize your plan isn’t going to work! We’ll focus on the two ways 

this can happen, since you’ll need very different approaches to deal with them. These two ways are  

1. when your plan won’t let you achieve your goal for the hand. 

2. when something unexpected happens during the play to disrupt your plan. 

 

For the first item, let’s look at a couple of 3NT hands where we know we’re in trouble right out of 

the gate. In the first hand, East is declaring and gets a     lead. Everything seems reasonable: 

We’re in a pretty normal contract and we have plenty of tricks—if we can set up the ♦ suit. 

West East 

   5 3 2    Q J 

♥7 4 ♥A J 10 3 

♦A K 9 7 3 2 ♦8 6 

   Q J    A K 10 7 3 

 

So, what’s the problem? Look at that     suit. If the opponents get the lead, which they will if we 

try to establish ♦s, they can also take at least four     tricks, which will set the contract. Worse, 

there’s nothing we can do about it. We can’t get to 9 tricks without giving up the lead at least once.  

That means we need to be sneaky! 

It starts at trick one: Overtake the    J with the    A! At trick 2, lead a ♦ and play low from 

West! What’s going on here? We’ve just given up one, and possibly two, tricks! But, put yourself in 

the defense’s shoes. What are they to make of this odd set of plays? Well, the    Q was winning 

the first trick, but you overtook with the    A. So, you either have very short    s or you wanted 

the lead to come from your hand. But, at the next trick, you played a low ♦ from both hands, 

something you could have easily done with the lead in West. By process of elimination, you must be 

short in    s, in which case the defense should lead back another one to clear that suit. As you can 

see, that gives you the chance to make your contract if the ♦s have a normal 3–2 split. 

Will this work at the table? Probably, as long as you make the plays in tempo at trick one. If you 

hem and haw, then the defense won’t fall for it. But, the second trick is key too. You need to lose 

the diamond early so the opponents can’t signal each other. If you cash the ♦A K first, then one of 

the opponents will be out on the third trick in that suit, which will allow her to signal for a     lead, 

which will make the switch easy to find. 

 



West East 

   A 3 2    10 

♥7 4 ♥A K Q J 6 3 

♦A 7 3 2 ♦K 10 6 

   J 10 4 2    Q 7 3 

 

On this second board, our goal is a little different. We want to make 10 tricks so we can beat all 

the pairs that ended up in 4♥. In 4♥, we would have a pretty easy play for the contract on a     

lead: Win the    A, draw trump and then attack    s. On a good day, the clubs will split and we’ll 

make 11 tricks. But, we’re not in 4♥, we’re in 3NT. So, what can we do to try and get a good board? 

We should start by winning the    A and playing our ♥s—all of them! As in the first hand, this will 

put pressure on the defense, but now it’s discarding pressure. They have to come up with 3 or 4 

discards, but they don’t know where your extra tricks might come from. You can help increase the 

pressure on them by making your first two discards from dummy two low ♦s. That will make it look 

as though you have no interest in developing that suit. If they mistakenly discard ♦s as well, your 

10th trick could come from the ♦10. This is an example of the bridge adage that it never hurts to 

run a long suit. 

Our final example in this section goes to a “rule” I play by: When everything seems bleak, try 

something unexpected! On the holding below, things are looking bleak for nine NT tricks. We have 

eight sure tricks, but it’s going to be tough to get another one, even with the ♦ lead. Plus, once you 

lose the lead, the obvious honors in dummy is going to direct the defenders to the right switch.  

West East 

   K 3 2    A 10 9 5 

♥7 4 2 ♥J 10 6 

♦K J 5 2 ♦A Q 7 

   A 10 4    K 9 3 

So, how did the declarer make this hand when it was played in the finals of a knock-out? Naturally, 

he attacked ♥s! Specifically, he cleared ♦s, ending in dummy and then led a low ♥ toward his 

hand. South took East’s ♥J, but what is she supposed to lead back? Not surprisingly, she assumed 

East was trying to set up an ♥AJ10 holding, so that left the black suits. She chose to return a    , 

which allowed declarer to pick up North’s    Q and then finesse South out of her    J—making 

three and clinching a well-deserved championship! 

Now let’s move on to the other part of today’s lesson—adjusting our plan when things go wrong.  

When we first make a plan, we make certain assumptions about how the suits will split and how the 

defenders will play the hand. While we try and base those on the most likely situation, the cards 

don’t always cooperate. Sometimes we’ll get lucky and be able to adjust our plan to try and take 



more tricks. But we tend to be more concerned about the unfriendly breaks that turn our well-

deserved tops into dreaded bottom boards. Consider this hand: 

West East 

   K J 4 2    A 5 

♥Q 10 4 2 ♥A K J 7 6 

♦Void ♦A 9 7 

   Q J 9 5 4    A 7 3 

 

You’ve reached an aggressive 6♥, but it looks like your aggression has paid off this time. On the 

    lead, your plan is simple. Play the    Q at trick one covered by the    K and    A. Then draw 

trump in two rounds, ruff your two low ♦s in dummy and cash your winners. That’ll get you 12 

tricks—13 if things go your way. Unfortunately, when you lead the ♥A at trick 2, North shows out! 

What now? First, take a deep breath. You’re not down yet. You just need to reassess the situation.  

Since South has four trump, we’re going to need to use one of West’s honors plus your three honors 

to draw them all. That leaves us enough ♥s to ruff our two low ♦s, but it creates some 

transportation issues. We can’t get back in ♥s (which would create a length trick for South) or 

   s. So, we have to get back with a     ruff. That leaves us the following plan: Ruff a low ♦, come 

back to hand with the    A, ruff another low ♦, cash the ♥Q, cash the    K, and ruff a     to get 

back to hand. If South isn’t able to overruff this trick, you’ll be left with these cards: 

West East 

   J     

♥ ♥K J 

♦ ♦A 

   J 9 5 4    7 3 

 

Now, you’re home free. You’ve drawn two rounds of trump—one with your Ace and one with dummy’s 

Queen. So, South only has two ♥s left, which you can draw with your King and Jack.  Your ♦A and 

dummy’s    J get you the last two tricks you need to make your contract. This is definitely a lot 

harder than the original approach, but it does get you to the desired outcome. But, it’s not without 

its pitfalls. First, you see that we ruffed the two low ♦s before we cashed the ♦A. That’s to 

reduce the chance that South can get a discard that will hurt us later in the hand. She’s not going 

to help us by ruffing when West, who is sitting behind her, is also out. Second, you may be tempted 

to finesse the    J. That’s a problem for two reasons: 1) You’re already short on entries to your 

hand, and 2) South already has a large number of cards accounted for (4♥s, 2♦s and 3    s), so 

it’s unlikely the finesse will work. On this hand, that approach will lead to going down as North wins 

his    Q and returns a    , which South ruffs. 


